CRI Group's ISO 37001:2016 certification process, part 2


ISO 37001:2016 Anti-Bribery Management System Certification is critical for organisations in the public, private and non-profit sectors. It provides an important layer against threats of bribery, corruption, fraud and other security concerns. It also sets an organisation apart from its peers, as models for ethical behaviour and compliance.

In a recent blog, we discussed the first part of the process for getting ISO 37001:2016 certified. We covered the initial engagement and the first four steps, including the audit confirmation, pre-assessment, and stage one and stage two audit processes. Today we will discuss the rest of the certification process, the path to getting your organisation better protected and fully in compliance with CRI Group's corporate due diligence services.

Step 5: Follow up Audit (optional)
If a major nonconformity is raised or remains outstanding from Stage 1, an additional visit will need to be booked. For major nonconformity raised during Stage 2, a revisit will be required within 30 days of submitting the CAP to confirm the implementation of an effective CAP.

Step 6: Awarding of Certificate
If the organization is compliant with the conditions of the standard, a recommendation for certification will be made.

For minor non-conformities: If an organization has a CAP in place, this will not delay the certificate and the Certificate is granted within 04 weeks from the time of CAP submission. 

For major non-conformities: the organization needs to submit and implement CAP within 180 days maximum. Once the CAP has been verified by the auditor, the Certificate is granted within 06 weeks from the time of CAP submission by Client. However, all major nonconformities will need to be addressed before a certificate can be published.

Step 7: Continual improvement and surveillance audits
Surveillance is planned over a three-year period and will ensure that the organization still complies with the standard.

Step 8: Recertification Audit
The registration period is 3 years from the date on the certificate. After the initial registration period is completed, renewing your Anti Bribery Management System Certification is relatively seamless. Once the second surveillance visit has been completed, you will be sent a proposal for registration renewal/ recertification detailing the process and associated costs along with assessment days for the next three years. Re-certification audit will require Stage 1 and Stage 2 audit. The depth of the audit and time required would be determined as per your performance during the certification period and any planned changes of your system.

It’s that easy. Now is the time to move forward with ISO 37001:2016 certification. Learn more at